Sarawak Timber Association is governed by the Council comprising of 12 Permanent Council Members who are nominated from the 6 Groups of Companies (effective 20 October 2009) and 36 Council Members who are elected once in every two years by the subscribing members in the Annual General Meeting from the following 9 categories of timber business and /or operation:

  • Forest Plantation
  • Furniture and Other Woodworking
  • Hill Logging
  • Log Marketing
  • Moulding
  • Panel Products
  • Sawmilling
  • Swamp Logging
  • Timber Products Marketing


Office Bearers

The Council will elect the following 5 Office Bearers for a term of two years

  • Chairman
  • Two Vice-Chairmen
  • Honorary Secretary
  • Honorary Treasurer


Management Committee

The Management Committee consists of

  • 5 Office-Bearers
  • 9 Category Chairmen


STA Committees 

Besides the 9 Category Committees, the Council has formed 5 Special Committees 


Roles and responsibilities of each committee

  • Provides a platform for category members to address issues of common interest
  • Participates in meetings/dialogues/seminars/conferences with the relevant Government agencies/authorities


STA Advisor (Ex-officio)

The roles of STA Advisors are to enhance and advise on the objects of the Association

  • The Director of Forest Department Sarawak (FDS)
  • The General Manager of Sarawak Timber Industry Development Corporation (STIDC) 

         Google Maps icon