Sarawak Timber Association (STA) was formed on 7 August 1971 in Sibu by three founding members; namely, The Sarawak First and Second Divisions Sawmillers’ Association, The Third Division & Bintulu District Sawmillers’ Association and The Fourth Division Timber Merchants’ Association.  On 20 September 1988, STA had sucessfully restructured its membership when existing members under the leadership of the late Dato Sri Lau Hui Kang (STA Chairman from 1986 to 2002) of the Associations then were disbanded, and together they formed a single association, STA.

On 15 June 1988, STA shifted to its new office in Wisma Sumber Alam, Kuching.  In a historical move on 15 October 2000, STA shifted to its own building, Wisma STA.

The overall management of STA is vested with the Council, which comprises 12 Permanent Council and 36 Council Members elected by the general membership once every two years. A Management Committee comprising the 5 Office Bearers and the Chairman of the Categories of membership manages the non-policy matters of the Association. The Council is supported by the Secretariat comprising a staff strength of 22 members.

STA is the only timber association in Malaysia representing companies involved in both the upstream and downstream activities of the timber industry and its subsequent trade. Currently, STA has about 360 member companies dealing with timber and timber products which includes logs, sawntimber, plywood, mouldings/dowels, furniture, laminated boards and other panel products. STA promotes the practice of sustainable forest management; monitors world timber markets; assists producers, buyers and investors to network; and through its two subsidiary companies; conducts training and research; and supports community and welfare service projects.